Hey , That’s Mine !

Recently i went , for some unknown reason , to another bloggers page , where upon clicking on their Ardbeg Distillery profile page i found one of my photos……..

Ardbeg Distillery

Evidence ‘A’ M’Lord……

Now normally i would be pretty chuffed that some one has thought something of mine is good enough to use ( borrow / lift /pinch *choose as you think appropriate) but this seems to be getting a regular regular thing in 2012 , earlier this year a whisky shop “used” my write up on the Geordie Laddies PC to “promote” the sale of some of a fellow shareholders bottles , what annoyed me was (apart from not asking my permission) that it looked like I was selling the bottles ! Which anyone who knows me well enough would know i’d never do….. Especially with  such an excellent whisky !!!

This problem isn’t new to me , back in the Good ‘ol days of the spirit of Islay site it was something of a regular problem , i had one site ask if they could use something and when i said no , they took the info thing anyway . If ever i got a heads up on an Ardbeg release i could put money on it would be lifted and appear elsewhere , usually a swedish forum…… Now people used to do this on my warehouse no.4 forum but i always reverted to what was an unwritten rule in internet etiquette , Post a link to the original site  NOT lift stuff ! and i’d always delete things that didn’t happen in this way .

If  i saw something i thought was of interest  to my site visitors i’d always ask the owner for permission to use it , if they agreed to it’s use , i’d always give credit and post a link to their site , perhaps i was just too honest……  

So where does this leave me now ? Well i’m going to have to stick a watermark on my photos which i don’t want to do as (a) it spoils the look of them , even discrete watermarks  (b) it means a bit more work on the actual process of the photo which can mount up if i’ve had a fruitful photographic day on Islay ! 

I’ve sent an e-mail to the offending blog but i’m not expecting a reply as i’ve since learned that i’m not the only one they’ve “took” photos from , they’ve also raided Armins Islayblog  . Another question now arises  , do i give permission in the future for someone to use any of my photos ?

2 thoughts on “Hey , That’s Mine !

  1. Hi Gordon
    I’ve lost count of the number of Bladnoch photos of mine that have appeared in books, magazines, blogs and internet sites….almost all without asking or acknowledgement….. Now I just take satisfaction from the thought that my photos must be better than any that they can manage (even though I know it’s just sheer laziness on their part!!) – and say, quite loudly, if I’m in a book shop – “Oh look – they’ve used one of my photos in this book…….” I did try watermarking – but with the thousands of photos I have it was just tedious!
    Anyway – I’ll just keep sharing Bladnoch with the world on FB and hope it inspires folk to visit and buy ……
    Sue
    xx

    • Hi Sue ,
      It’s just so bloody annoying ! I wouldn’t do it to anyone , as you say lazy , probably haven’t been anywhere near Islay…..
      Luckily i’ve found a shortcut to putting a watermark on pictures in Photoshop Elements 10 , i’ve created a brush that means a couple of clicks and it’s on the photo !
      Hope you are all well down in deepest Cumbria .
      Best wishes
      Gordon

Leave a Reply

