Forty Creek Port Wood Reserve

Situated near the Shore of Lake Ontario on the outskirts of the Town of Grimsby , Forty Creek Distillery recently changed hands moving into the Campari portfolio . This is the 2012 Second Release of the Port Wood Reserve , I’ve tried quite a few of John’s releases now ( Copper Pot , Barrel Select , Double Barrel Reserve , 2014 Evolution , Confederation Oak Reserve ) So this is a new one for me , especially such a rarity from the past ! A bit of information from the Forty Creek website by John K.Hall himself…… 

This is the second release of my Port Wood Reserve whisky. It is back by popular demand, because I wish I had made more of it the first time.

My vintage ports are made from Niagara grown grapes and aged in white oak heavy charred barrels. I must confess I am fond of vintage ports so making my Port Wood Reserve has the added benefit of allowing me to enjoy some very tasty ports.

Port Wood Reserve is made in the same style as all my Forty Creek whiskies, in that I do not use a mash bill. My varietal whiskies are aged separately, and once completed, they are brought together for further rounding out. In this whisky, the Forty Creek blend was aged in the vintage port wood barrels for another two years prior to bottling. I am very happy with how this second release has matured. It is every bit as delicious, complex and smooth as my first Lot of Port Wood, which won a Gold Medal at the International Review of Spirits in Chicago.

You could have in your hands 1 of only 6,600 bottles. Each bottle is individually numbered. Enjoy! 

Forty_Creek_Port_Wood_Reserve

A Lovely Ruby Red colour , the initial nose is incredibly fruity , Dark and Dried Fruits , very spicy and loads of Rye , slight butterscotch sweetness and vanilla . a really complex and enjoyable nose . On the palate again it’s loaded with Rye , butterscotch , dried fruits , and spices , very smooth and a joy to taste . The Finish is long and warming , huge rye and spices with a hint of chocolate digestives , This is such a complex whisky !

It is a superb Canadian , up there with another of my Port Wood Finished favourites , the Pike Creek . Many thanks to Rob (@WhiskyFan2112) for allowing me the chance to sample this wonderful malt via this bottle , I owe you big time !

I just wish we could get this Distilleries output here in the UK….. 

Forty Creek Website    

Leave a Reply

